THE MANKATOAN, Jewell County, Kansas


Submitted by Janet Tyler

N.G. Sheffer Superintendent

School Board
M.W. Hale
D.K. Balch
Rovert Smith

Harley Doak
Quentin Groves
Keith Varney
Lucile Graham
Mary Jo Schnell
Mabelle Vendeventer
Ruth Cshultz
Dennis McKee
Rachel Foltz
Raymond Mummey

Senior Class of 1942
Clyde Work
Betty Joe Blair
Clifford Dyas
Raymond Everson
Dorothy June Skeers
Maurice Beardmore
Joe Beeler
Esther Belden
Wilfred Buster
Twila Clegg
Dorothy Clevenger
Carroll Collins
Donald Davis
Neva Joy Drake
Margaret Rae Ellsworth
Betty Frink
Warren Guthrie
LaVerne Hancock
Cleo Handley
Russell D. Hannan, Jr.
Lena Hanson
Paul Harding
Leona Ruth Helvey
Elaine Johannes
Grace Kimbrough
Julia Ann Leonard
Marie Musgrove
Ardell Myers
Roma Nelson
Glen Nichols
Arlene Parker
Anna Ruth Reystead
Wilma Ross
Barbara Teeple
Junior Vance
Orlene Vance
Lee Walker
Lois Weaverling
Maxine Webber

Class Officers
Clyde Work President
Clifford Dyas V. President
Dorothy June Skeers Sec., Treas.
Betty Joe Blair Student Council
Raymond Everson Student Council

Class Colors
Blue and Silver

In 1930 a group of boys and girls set out to attain perfection of knowledge, attitudes and skills by daily attendance in an imposing stone building, known as the Mankato Grade School. During the twelve years of their schooling, the class has lost and gained members, to the end that this year the 1942 Mankatoan presents a total of thirty-nine seniors. Throughout the years, amidst class work, as well as extracurricular activities, knowing disappointments and joy they have marched along together, building what they believe to be the biggest and best class ever to be graduated from M.H.S.

Background and KSGenWeb logo were designed and are copyrighted by
Tom & Carolyn Ward
for the limited use of the KSGenWeb Project.
Permission is granted for use only on an official KSGenWeb page.

©2001, Tom & Carolyn Ward

Home Page for Kansas
Search all of Blue Skyways
The KSGenWeb Project
Return to
Jewell County